
 — Your Life Depends on It!

The Teenage and Adult Driver Responsibility Act (TADRA) 
continues to make strides in creating safe Georgia roads 
for the motoring public. TADRA directly addresses 

the leading killer of our young people – traffic crashes. The 
law significantly changes the way young motorists earn and 
maintain the privilege of driving by providing a controlled means 
for new drivers to gain experience and by reducing high-risk 
driving situations. While the law does focus on young drivers, 
it also contains important provisions that affect drivers over 21, 
particularly in the area of DUI prevention and enforcement. 

TADRA Violations
A driver can only advance to the next Graduated License 
level if he or she has completed 12 consecutive months 
without a conviction for any of the following:

	 DUI
	 Fleeing or attempting to elude a police officer
	 Racing
	 Reckless driving
	 Hit and run / leaving the scene of an accident
	 Any moving violation for which four or more 

points are assessed

Suspension of License
If a driver under the age of 21 is convicted for any of the 
following offenses, their license will be suspended for at 
least 6 months:

	 Fleeing or attempting to elude a police officer
	 Racing
	 Reckless driving
	 Hit and run / leaving the scene of an accident
	 Any moving violation for which four or more points 

are assessed
	 For drivers under age 18, an accumulation of four or 

more points in a 12-month period will also result in a 
suspension

	 A first conviction for DUI in which the driver’s 
blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.08 grams or 
higher will result in a 12-month suspension

What You Need to Know About

Stay Alert and Watch Out for Other Drivers

Earning Your License
The Teenage and Adult Driver Responsibility 
Act established graduated driver licensing for 
Georgians between the ages of 15 to 18, with three 
separate classifications.
Step 1: Instructional Permit (Class CP) This permit is available 
to persons age 15 and up after passing a knowledge 
examination. While driving, the permit holder must be 
accompanied by a licensed (Class C) adult 21 years of age or 
older who is fit and capable of exercising control of the vehicle 
and who is occupying the front passenger seat beside the driver.
Step 2: Provisional License (Class D) This license is issued to 16- and 
17-year-olds who have held an Instructional Permit for one calendar 
year and a day without committing any major traffic violations and have 
passed a comprehensive on road driving test.

	 A total of at least 40 hours of other supervised driving, including 
6 hours at night, is also required. Individuals who do not 
complete an approved driver education course must wait until 
age 17 to become licensed. A driver education course is not 
mandated for 17-year-olds, although it is highly recommended.

	 Driver education requirements must be met prior to  
initial issuance. For specific requirements, please visit  
www.gateendrivereducation.com 

The Provisional License has the following restrictions:

	 A Class D License Holder may not drive between the hours of 
12:00 a.m. and 5:00 a.m. NO EXCEPTIONS

	 During the first six (6) months following issuance, only 
immediate family members may ride in the vehicle

	 During the second six (6) months following issuance, only one 
(1) passenger under 21 years of age who is not a member of 
the driver’s immediate family may ride in the vehicle

	 After the first and second six-month period, only three (3) 
passengers under 21 years of age who are not members of the 
driver’s immediate family may ride in the vehicle

Special Notes: 

	 Immediate family is defined as the license holder’s parents and 
step-parents, grandparents, siblings, step-siblings, children and 
any other person who resides at the license holder’s residence.

	 Visit the GOHS website (www.gahighwaysafety.org) for a copy of 
a Teen Driver/Parent Agreement and also click on the “Links” to 
Department of Driver Services for information.

Step 3: Full License (Class C) This license is available to persons age 
18 and up if there have been no major traffic convictions for the 
previous 12 months. Your Class D license must be upgraded to Class 
C or you will be held to Class D restrictions regardless of your age. 
Special Notes: 

	 The supervised driving requirement also applies to an initial 
Class C license applicant who has not previously been issued a 
Class D license.
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What You Need to Know About 
School & Your License

School Enrollment Required 
No individual under the age of 18 can obtain a driver’s license 
or instructional permit unless he or she is enrolled in a public 
school, a private school or home school authorized by law; 
or has graduated from high school, received a certificate of 
high school completion; or has completed his or her secondary 
education and is enrolled in a post-secondary school. 

Other DUI provisions for drivers 21 
and over, include:

	 The nolo contendere plea for DUI charges will be treated 
as a conviction for all drivers

	 The offender will face a mandatory clinical evaluation and, 
if indicated, will have to complete a substance abuse 
treatment program at the offender’s expense

	 The court will order a person convicted of a second 
or subsequent DUI to surrender all license plate(s) 
registered in his or her name to the court

	 Upon a second DUI conviction within a 5-year period, 
suspension of driver’s license for a minimum of 18 
months, with a provision of ignition interlock permit after 
120 days

	 There are provisions for the offender to obtain a license 
plate for any car used by other family members, and the 
existence of the special tag will not be probable cause for 
a traffic stop, search of the vehicle, or seizure

Any person over 21 convicted of DUI with a blood-
alcohol concentration of .08 or higher may be 
ordered to serve a period of imprisonment of up 
to 12 months, and 24 hours of that sentence may 
not be suspended or probated. Those persons will 
also continue to be subject to a $1,000 fine for the 
first offense.

Driving and Cell Phone Usage
It is illegal for anyone under age 18 to engage 
in any wireless communication while driving 
in Georgia.

Examples of wireless communication include:

	 Use of cell phone 
	 Any text messaging device
	 Personal digital assistant
	 Standalone computer
	 Any other wireless device used to initiate 

or receive communication with another 
person

It is illegal for anyone to write, send or read a 
text message while driving in Georgia.

	 A conviction for this violation will result 
in the addition of 1 point on your driving 
record.

Buckle Up • Slow Down • Obey Traffic Laws • Don’t Drink and Drive!

How can I satisfy the Driver Education 
Requirement?

JOSHUA’S LAW IN EFFECT

Punishments for DUI conviction under 
the age of 21 include:

FIRST offense: (under .08%)
A blood-alcohol concentration of .02% or greater is 
considered a DUI for any driver under the age of 21.

	 Suspension of driver’s license for 6 months with no 
provision for a limited permit or early reinstatement

	 No nolo contendere plea
	 Attendance at a DUI school
	 At least 20 hours of community service, to be 

completed within 60 days of sentencing 
	 Loss of ability to advance to next Graduated 

License level for 12 months

FIRST offense: (.08% or more)
Punishment is the same as for the first offense under .08% 
but also includes:

	 Mandatory jail term not less than 24 hours
	 Community service not less than 40 hours
	 Clinical evaluation and treatment if directed
	 Suspension of license for 12 months, with no 

reinstatement prior to the end of the suspension period

SECOND offense:
Punishment is the same as for the first offense but also includes:

	 For drivers 16-20 years of age, suspension of driver’s 
license for a minimum of 18 months, with a provision of 
ignition interlock permit after 120 days

	 Community service not less than 30 days
	 Clinical evaluation and treatment if directed
	 Mandatory jail term not less than 72 hours
	 The court will order a person convicted of a 2nd 

and subsequent DUI to surrender all license plates 
registered in his or her name to the court

If the offender is under the jurisdiction of the Juvenile Court due 
to age, the sentence will be served at a Youth Development 
Center (YDC) or be placed in the Sheriff’s custody. In all cases, 
the offender will be separated from the main prison population. 
Regardless of age, the judge will still have the discretion 
to sentence the driver for a misdemeanor with graduated 
punishment, depending on the number of prior offenses.
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6 hours of 
Behind the 
Wheel Training 
at a DDS 
approved school

6 hours of 
Behind the 
Wheel Training  
at a DDS 
approved school

Completion of the Parent Teen 
Driving Guide (NO additional 
Supervised Driving Required)

Completion of the Parent Teen 
Driving Guide (NO additional 
Supervised Driving Required)

40 hours of 
Supervised 
Driving with 
parent/
guardian

40 hours of 
Supervised 
Driving with 
parent/
guardian

+

30 hours of 
Classroom 
Instruction at a 
DDS approved 
school

30-hour 
online course 
with a DDS 
approved 
school

30-hour online 
course with a DDS 
approved school

30 hours of Classroom 
Instruction at a DDS 
approved school

Method #1 

Method #3 

Method #4 

Method #2

Drivers 16 years old wanting to obtain a Class D license will need to 
complete an approved driver education course at a licensed private 
or public driver training school or other training approved by the 
Georgia Department of Driver Services. A total of at least 40 hours 
of supervised driving, including 6 hours at night, is also required. 
Individuals who do not complete an approved driver education 
course must wait until age 17 to become licensed.

Drivers 17 years old wanting to obtain a Class D license will need to 
complete a total of at least 40 hours of supervised driving, including 6 
hours at night. A driver education course is not mandated for 17-year-
olds, although it is highly recommended. 
THE PARENT/GUARDIAN MUST ATTEST THE SUPERVISED DRIVING 
WAS COMPLETED BY SIGNING A DRIVING EXPERIENCE AFFIDAVIT 
AVAILABLE AT THE GEORGIA DEPARTMENT OF DRIVER SERVICES.
Specific information about these requirements is available at  
www.gateendrivereducation.com. 


