My DDS Logo
Pre-Apply for your CSC Visit
Alert Travel Alert: Plan ahead!! Temporary licenses and ID cards are no longer accepted by the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) as proof of identification for boarding flights at airports. Please refer to the TSA web site for a list of acceptable documents.

Motorcycle Instructional Permit (Class MP)

Basic Requirements

  1. Applicant must be at least 16 years of age.
  2. Applicants under 17 years of age must successfully complete a certified 30 hour Georgia Driver Training/Driver Education Course.
  3. Applicants under 17 years of age must successfully complete a certified Georgia Behind the Wheel Program.
  4. Pass Vision Exam.
  5. Pass Motorcycle Knowledge Exam.
  6. If applicant is under 18 years of age, then a parent/guardian, responsible adult, or authorized Driver Training Instructor is required to sign the application for the driver's license. Responsible adult only applies to emancipated applicants with court ordered documentation. The participating signatories also have the authority to request the license to be revoked at any time before the minor's 18th birthday.

Documents Required

  1. Documentation showing your identity, residential address, full social security number, and U.S. citizenship or proof of lawful status in the United States. Click here for more information.
  2. Any out-of-state driver's license/permit/ID cards must be surrendered.
  3. If the applicant previously was issued a driver's license/permit/ID card in another state, and that card has been lost or stolen, the applicant must provide a certified copy of his or her driving record or motor vehicle report from the state that issued the card. The MVR must be dated within the last 30 days. The DDS does not accept uncertified copies printed from websites, but a fax may be sent to the DDS directly from the other state agency.
  4. If under age 18 a Certificate of Attendance (DS-1) must be dated within the last 30 days or High School Diploma or GED, is required.
  5. If under 18 an ADAP or eADAP certificate of completion is required.
  6. If under 18 and if Parent Teen Driving Guide was used to satisfy the 'Behind The Wheel' requirement, the session checklists, signed 40 hour Driving Log, and the Parent/Teen Driving Agreement are required.
  7. All documents must be in English.

FEES and TERMS - Select for Details.


  1. Operate motorcycle in daylight hours only.
  2. No passengers allowed.
  3. May not drive on limited access roadways.
  4. Wear safety equipment as prescribed by law.


  1. It is not mandatory for a Class M applicant to obtain a Class MP instructional permit before taking the Class M exam. However, anyone applying for a Class M driver's license must pass the knowledge exam as well as the skills test before a Class M license can be issued.
  2. Road test reservations are currently available only to those applicants who hold a Class MP.
  3. Test scores are valid for 2 years.
  4. An alternate method that an applicant can acquire a motorcycle license (Class M) is the following :
    1. Complete the Georgia Motorcycle Safety Program Basic Course and, if successful, presents the 90-day License Test Waiver to a DDS Customer Service Center.
      Complete professional training in the operation of a motorcycle.
    2. Pass the Vision Exam.
    3. Other Fees may be required.
  5. Benefits for taking the Basic Course are:
    1. Learn to operate a motorcycle safely.
    2. Professional in-class and on-cycle training.
    3. Successful completion earns a Class M (motorcycle) license.
    4. Motorcycle and helmet provided.
  6. The introductory/ Basic Course is intended for a new rider with little or no experience. The Cost is $250.00. For details and online registration visit the Motorcycle Safety Program webpage.
  7. Students, under age 18, who successfully complete the Basic Course, earn a 90-day License Test Waiver. However, to obtain a Class M license, the student must be at least 17 years of age BEFORE the 90-day waiver expires and must also comply with the requirements of Joshua's Law.
Last Updated On: 8/10/2016