TADRA is the acronym used to refer to Georgia’s Teenage and Adult Driver Responsibility Act.
TADRA is a graduated driver's license program for young drivers ages 15 to 18. It was established in Georgia by a collaborative effort of highway safety advocates, legislators, law enforcement officials, educators, businesses and media in the wake of a high number of fatal vehicle crashes involving young, inexperienced drivers.
This act directly addresses the leading killer of our young people - traffic crashes. The law significantly changes the way young motorists earn and maintain the privilege of driving by providing a controlled means for new drivers to gain experience, and by reducing high-risk driving situations. While the law does focus on young drivers, it also contains important provisions that affect drivers over the age of 21, particularly in the area of DUI prevention and enforcement.
Yes. The restrictions associated with a Class D Georgia Driver’s License are based on the class of license, not the age of the driver.
Yes. The conditions associated with a Class D Georgia driver’s license are based on the class of license, not the age of the driver. Drivers 18 or older that have had no major traffic convictions in the last 12 months may apply in person or online for a Class C Georgia driver’s license. DDS internet services are available twenty-fours a day and seven days a week.
You are eligible to apply for a Class C Georgia driver’s license once you reach age 18. Remember, however, that when you apply for a Class C Georgia driver’s license, you will be required to swear or affirm under penalty of law that you have 40 hours of supervised driving experience, 6 hours of which are at night. You will also be required to successfully pass a knowledge test consisting of road rules and road signs.
Joshua’s Law was enacted in 2005. Among other things, it requires all teens under the age of 17 that apply for a Class D Georgia driver’s license on or after January 1, 2007 to show proof that they successfully completed a DDS-approved driver education course from a certified Driver Training School.
You may submit a question or comment to Ask Teen Driver .
A complete list of DDS-certified Driver Training Schools may be found on our website.
The DDS Parent/Teen Driving Guide is available at DDS Customer Service Centers or as a free download on our website.
An certified driver education course is one that has been certified by the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) for purposes of enabling teens to obtain their Class D Georgia Driver’s license at age 16.
Georgia’s driver education program is comprised of two components—a theoretical component and a practical component. The theoretical component consists of a minimum of 30 hours of instruction, which teens can acquire either in a classroom environment or via the web through any of the DDS-approved online courses. The practical, or behind-the-wheel component, can be obtained under the supervision of a DDS-licensed instructor or through use of the complimentary DDS Parent/Teen Driving Guide.
There are two ways to complete each component, resulting in four methods of satisfying the driver education requirements. Please refer to the chart on our website.
If your child is 16 years of age and wishes to obtain a Class D Georgia driver’s license, they will be required to show proof that they successfully completed a driver education program from one of the Georgia certified Driver Training Schools. However, if your child has parents in the active U.S. military service, they can use their out of state driver’s education certificate provided that it is within 9 months of their 16th birthday.
Step 1 – Learner's Permit (Class CP): a Georgia Learner’s Permit is granted to applicants that are at least 15 years old and have successfully passed a knowledge test consisting of road rules and road signs. While operating a motor vehicle, drivers that possess a Learner’s Permit must be accompanied by an individual that is at least 21 years old, possesses a valid Class C driver’s license, is seated next to them in the vehicle, and is capable of exercising control over the vehicle if necessary.
Step 2 – Intermediate Provisional License (Class D): a Class D Georgia driver’s license is granted to applicants either 16 or 17 years old that have held a Georgia Learner’s Permit for 12 months and one day, have not committed any major traffic violations, and have successfully passed a road skills test. A Class D Georgia driver’s license has certain conditions, which are outlined in Question #5.
Step 3 – Full License (Class C): a Class C Georgia driver’s license is granted to drivers 18 years old or older that have had no major traffic convictions in the last 12 months.
No. One of the statutory requirements for obtaining a Class D Georgia driver’s license is that the applicant must have held an unexpired Learner’s Permit for at least 12 months and one day prior to application for the Class D Georgia driver’s license.
Georgia law allows insurance companies to offer reductions in automobile insurance premiums to customers that complete a driver education course. We recommend that you speak with your insurance agent.
“Supervised driving” refers to driving experience obtained under the supervision of an individual that is at least 21 years old, possesses an unexpired Class C driver’s license, is seated next to the driver at all times while he or she is driving, and is capable of exercising control over the vehicle if necessary.
No log is required for supervised driving. However, at the time application is made for a Class D driver’s license, a parent, guardian, or duly authorized DDS-certified driver education instructor will be required to swear or affirm under penalty of law that the applicant received 40 hours of supervised driving, 6 hours of which was at night.
How would you rate the quality of this article?
Tell us why you rated the article this way.
Connect with DDS
Share DDS with Others
Georgia Government Links
© 2005-2014 State of Georgia Department of Driver Services