The BASIC RIDERS Course (BRC)
In this course, you'll learn how to operate a motorcycle safely, with emphasis on the special skills and mental attitudes necessary for dealing with traffic. Georgia Motorcycle Safety Program (GMSP) Coaches will start you off with straight-line riding, turning, shifting and stopping. You'll gradually progress to cornering, swerving and emergency braking. In the classroom you'll learn about the different types of motorcycles, their characteristics, and how they operate. The GMSP Coaches, all experienced motorcyclists, will advise you on what to wear for comfort, visibility and protection. You'll find out how alcohol and other drugs affect your ability to ride safely.
The cost at a GMSP Training site is $250 ($300 if out of state resident). The fee will vary at GMSP-approved private vendors.
No, GMSP training sites provide the motorcycle and helmet. GMSP approved private vendors may not supply helmets.
You will not be permitted to participate in the course unless you wear:
Classes are offered year-round, but registration is required. Please visit GMSP Registration for online registration details.
A very important segment of the course will show you how to create your own strategy for riding in traffic, and how to deal with critical situations. The course concludes with a knowledge test and an on-cycle skill evaluation. Successful completion of a course earns a graduate a 90-day Driver License Test Waiver from the Georgia Department of Driver Services' motorcycle licensing written test and on-cycle test. It does not waive the vision exam or any fees. It is only valid for 90 days from the day the course ends.
Students under the age of 18 that successfully complete the Basic Course earn a 90-day Driver License Test Waiver. However, to get their driver license, the student must be at least 17 years of age before the 90-day waiver expires. They must also comply with the requirements of Joshua's Law.
A parent or legal guardian must accompany any student under the age of 18 to the first class meeting to sign a waiver form. Students under the age of eighteen will not be allowed to attend the course unless a parent or legal guardian is present the first class session (no exceptions)!
The Experienced Course (ERC)
The Experienced Course is a one-day workshop designed to improve your skills in braking, evasive maneuvers and turning. It provides the experienced motorcyclist with "street strategies" necessary for survival. The customer must provide their own motorcycle and a Department of Transportation (DOT) approved helmet. The cost is $100.00 (Out-of-state fee, $150.00) NO REFUND.
Advanced Rider Course (ARC)
This one-day course focuses on the complex skills of self-assessment, personal risk management, and riding strategies. The Course is open to all experienced riders with a current motorcycle driver’s license. The rider will take their motorcycle through advanced riding techniques on the range under the guidance of experienced Georgia Motorcycle Safety Program Coaches. The cost is $100.
The Basic Riders Course is available for scooters as well.
How would you rate the quality of this article?
Tell us why you rated the article this way.
Connect with DDS
Share DDS with Others
Georgia Government Links
© 2005-2014 State of Georgia Department of Driver Services